Rough illustrations for “Mitch & Mouse”


As part of my zany thinker (dys)function, of course if I don’t have a gazillion things going on then I don’t have enough to do. I took a mild break from Recovery Writing 101 and the two other books. When I draw and write for children, my emotional baggage takes a vacation.

It's Elementary, my dear...

“Mitch & Mouse”

I played around with some of the illustration concepts a few days ago.  The story is simplistic and supposed to be fun with (of course) a message.  A large firefighter with a severe shyness befriends a mouse, who becomes his best friend and helps him overcome the shyness.  Most of the objects in the illustrations tend to have a fluid, eccentric motion.  Straight lines drive me bonkers.  The original story is being adapted into a ditty format, which is one of my best strengths.

I took several shots as I drew the other evening.  The first illustrations were drawn a year ago in pencil.  I hemmed & hawed over digital illustration or hand-drawn.

Draft illustrations for "Mitch & Mouse" by C.L. Bolin

Here, the concept formed of an absurdly large firefighter crammed in a small fire truck.

Draft illustrations for "Mitch & Mouse" by C.L. Bolin

As I drew, more ideas formed.. where’s Mouse?

Draft illustrations for "Mitch & Mouse" by C.L. Bolin

Mouse is on the side mirror.  More details have been added…

View original post 34 more words

Leave a Reply

